Home | Grants | Funding Available to Improve the Knowledge Base on Climate Change in Africa

Funding Available to Improve the Knowledge Base on Climate Change in Africa

Deadline: September 23rd, 2021

European Commission is seeking applications to strengthen the Bilateral Cooperation on Research Infrastructures with Africa to improve the knowledge base on climate change in Africa.


  • This topic aims at fostering EU-Africa cooperation to enhance climate (including Green House Gas and Short Lived Climate Forcers – GHG and SLCF) observation capacity across Africa.
  • EU-Africa cooperation in the field of GHG observation will also include sharing of good practices and experiences to facilitate the development of a strategic approach for structuring R&I capacities at pan-African level.
  • Particular attention should be given to tropical and sub-tropical Africa, which are currently the least covered regions in terms of climate observation. The participation of African partners is mandatory.
  • Proposals should address all following aspects:
    • establish a concept for a Pan-African climate observation RI including the underlying data infrastructure and the related digital transformation;; attention should be paid to open and FAIR principles in data management policies.
    • support the exchange of staff between several African countries and European research infrastructures to create expertise for the design, the governance and the operation of an integrated Pan-African RI for climate observation.

Funding Information

Grant amount is equal to or greater than EUR 500,000 except for:

  • public bodies (entities established as a public body under national law, including local, regional or national authorities) or international organisations; and
  • cases where the individual requested grant amount is not more than EUR 60,000 (low-value grant).

Expected Outcomes

Project results are expected to contribute to all the following expected outcomes:

  • contribution to the new Commission strategy with Africa, notably to the following specific objectives: maximise the benefits of the green transition and minimise threats to the environment in full compliance with the Paris Agreement; rapidly enhance learning, knowledge and skills, research and innovation capacities (with attention to female and young researchers);
  • enhanced research capacities in Africa for climate change observation;
  • enhanced Euro-African cooperation in R&I on measurements for climate change observation.

Who Can Apply?

  • Any legal entity, regardless of its place of establishment, including legal entities from non-associated third countries or international organisations (including international European research organisations) is eligible to participate (whether it is eligible for funding or not), provided that the conditions laid down in the Horizon Europe Regulation have been met, along with any other conditions laid down in the specific call topic.
  • A ‘legal entity’ means any natural or legal person created and recognised as such under national law, EU law or international law, which has legal personality and which may, acting in its own name, exercise rights and be subject to obligations, or an entity without legal personality.
  • To be eligible for funding, applicants must be established in one of the eligible countries, i.e:
    Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, DoVminica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt (Arab Republic), El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic), Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People’s Republic), Kyrgyz Republic, Lao (People’s Democratic Republic), Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States), Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic), Vietnam, Yemen Republic, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Visit EU Horizon for more information.

Check Also

Australia High Commission Direct Aid Program - Wirkish

Australian High Commission in Abuja announces Direct Aid Program

Deadline: September 30th, 2021 The Australian High Commission in Abuja is pleased to announce the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.